Are There Any Real Benefits to “Friends with Benefits?”

Simcha of The Frisky says having “friends with benefits” can be fun, but it can also destroy friendships and stand in the way of real relationships.

Not long ago, I met a guy that reminded me of that sexy NPR storyteller Ira Glass. Instantly, I fell in nerd-love with this doppelganger. After dating for a while, though, we realized we had only one thing in common: sex. So we decided to be friends with benefits. According to a Michigan State University study, sixty-percent of college co-eds have been involved in an FWB relationship, and plenty of my thirty-something girlfriends were doing it to stay satisfied, so I figured I’d give the laid back, no-romantic-attachments approach to getting laid a whirl. A year later, faux-Ira and I still hang out and hump. After our most recent rendezvous last weekend, I began to wonder what I’m doing. What are the real benefits to friends with benefits? Read more

One Response

  1. Sounds to me like many of the commenters don’t need ‘friends with benefits’…they need fuck-buddies/shag-pals. Big difference…and much less messy.

    I wonder if renaming what some of them currently have would make a difference.

Leave a Reply

