An American Woman’s First Turkish Bath

Being bathed in public by a large, nude woman is not on my list of “1,000 Things to Do Before You Die,” but I enjoyed reading Melissa Myers’ description of her first Turkish bath, in Instanbul, and the combination of embarrassment and relaxation she experienced there.

… On a recent trip to Istanbul, I was longing for an adrenaline rush, so I followed a Turkish friend to the Asian side of town to a promised “very exciting location – one of the ‘1,000 Things to Do Before You Die.’ “

I pictured hang-gliding over the Bosporus or bungee jumping from the Aya Sophia. But I soon realized that the Thing to Do, apparently, was to get a Turkish bath. My heart sank. This had better be one extreme bath. Read more

Leave a Reply

